Interview with Psyops ahead of Vortex Open Source 2016

Psyops is Sean Marais from Cape Town, South Africa. First introduced to psytrance by his best  friend in the year 2000, he became entranced with all aspects of the psychedelic trance scene – including the music and décor – which soon led to the inception of Psyops . His diverse musical style ranges from ambient to minimal, day and night-time psychedelic, and more. Psyops says that his music is about telling stories and taking the listener on a journey. One thing’s for sure: it’s almost impossible to remain still when he’s playing. This year, we’re psyked to see Psyops return to the Circle of Dreams for Vortex Open Source 2016.

Psyops

PSYKED:
Hi Sean! Let’s start at the very beginning (it’s the very best place to start). Do you remember the first time you got behind the decks? We’d love to hear about that definitive moment when you decided to become a DJ.

PSYOPS:
Well, I can’t really remember the first time but it must have been at a friend’s house back in the day – 15 years ago – messing around on vinyl. We rigged big speakers and faced them outside, blasting underground hip hop and DnB but my first gig was at Gonzo’s in Plumstead in 2006. That was a rad moment in my life.

PSYKED:
What do you do when you’re not blasting beats or attending trance parties?

PSYOPS:
I work in the film industry (I love my job). I body board, love the sea, love outdoors and do a lot of camping and travelling.  And I’m always working on making the vortex festival a better experience.

Psyops

PSYKED:
Your music is highly psychedelic. You’ve mentioned before that for you it’s “all about emotion.” Tell us a bit more about what inspires you.

PSYOPS:
Very well produced music [inspires me]. Something that the artist has really thought about – it’s not just wacked out because that what everyone is doing. Artists who are really pushing the boundaries, in any genre.

PSYKED:
If you could perform at any event in the world, what would it be and which time slot would you choose?

PSYOPS:
I would say, if I could, it would be Modem Festival – that crowd would be best to critique the type of music that gets me going in a full trance. But on the same level, to play night time at a Vortex is a life time goal.

psyops-vortex

PSYKED:
It’s almost time for Vortex Open Source! Of course, you’re no stranger to the Vortex stage. Do you have any festival moments to share? The funnier, the better.

PSYOPS:
I’ve seen many funny moments. From girls slipping in the mud to people pulling funny faces while the expressing themselves dancing. You see the strangest stuff while on being on stage.

PSYKED:
Is there anyone on the Vortex line-up you are super chuffed to be playing alongside?

PSYOPS:
Definitely Tim Duster (he’s one of my favourite DJs), then Virtual Light, Benzinho, XP Voodoo, and whoever else I get time to hear. I am working night duty so luckily I will hear a lot of that though I won’t see anyone. I’m off on Monday, so will be gooi’ing mielies then!

psyops-1

PSYKED:
With your vast experience in the scene, you must have picked up some tricks and tips along the way. What are the three things you’d never leave home for a festival without?

PSYOPS:
A change of socks; a hoodie (even if its super hot when you leave home) and my sunglasses. It would be a deadly mistake not to bring sunglasses.

PSYKED:
Before we wrap things up, answer us this: Would you rather attend a festival with cash and no place to crash? Or with a place to crash but no cash?

PSYOPS:
Well, that depends on the party. I’ve been to many festivals with no tent, so it depends on how long it is but normally I need my sleep and have enough friends to beg off.  So, I will go with a place to crash and no cash.

PSYKED:
What about attending a festival where you could dance but not talk or talk but not dance?

PSYOPS:
Definitely dance and not talk – it’s like that at most festivals for me. I’m going for the music, the décor and the experience, not to stand there at chat. Sometimes I get so deep that I can’t talk and when people come up talk to me I just stare at them with a distant gaze.

vortex-open-source-2016

PSYKED:
We can believe it! But hopefully you’ll never have to make that decision. Thanks for the interview. We’ll see you on the dance-floor at Vortex Open Source 2016.  

Visit www.vortextranceadventures.co.za.
One thought on “Interview with Psyops ahead of Vortex Open Source 2016”

Leave a Reply

