vertigo psytrance

Exclusive interview with Vertigo ahead of #MagicOfJungala

Veritgo is none other than Ricardo Rivera Alvarez. Born and raised in Mexico, Vertigo discovered his affinity for music at a very early age. By the time he was 16 he had already begun performing at prominent local events in his hometown, Gaudalajara; not to mention producing his own music. The Vertigo project came to life in 2013 and was signed to Blue Tunes Records shortly after. Since then Vertigo’s energetic progressive style has continued to gain recognition across the g lobe. This year we are psyked to welcome him back to Cape Town for PsynOpticz #MagicOfJungala where he will be performing alongside international headliners such as BLiSS and Mystical Complex.

vertigo-magic-of-jungala

PSYKED:
Hi Ricardo. Thanks for chatting to us today. You broke into the scene at a really young age! How did you first come to discover this genre of music and what inspired you to start creating it yourself?

VERTIGO:
I discovered it through my love of music. As soon as I heard my first Infected Mushroom album at the age of 16, I was already hungry to explore more about (what was then) a new world for me. So one thing led to another and a few months later I was already writing songs – even before attending my first festival. When I started to play, I realised how great it felt to see a crowd dancing, jumping, playing, or just being happy with the music and, with time, how music can be a powerful tool for the mind.

PSYKED:
In your own words, how do you want your music to make people feel?

VERTIGO:
Well, I’ll say that my favourite moment in my music is when a massive, interesting drop comes and everyone gets into the same rhythm and flow. But at the same time, I love to create a deep ambience for those inner moments. Overall, what’s magical about this kind of music is that it can tell a story while evoking many different feelings.

PSYKED:
You often create your own special take on popular tracks, like Hotel California and Breaking the Habit. It’s clear your musical appreciation spans far beyond electronic music. What do you listen to when you’re not producing?

VERTIGO:
Well, I’m listening to Red Hot Chili Peppers in this moment – a massive band *laughs.* I have a lot of different musical preferences but I’d say my favourite genres are rock, jazz, chilling music, reggae, dub. I just love great music – instruments, voices or a mix of them – regardless of its denomination. I think that having the ability to merge a legendary song with my kind of music, in any of its many styles, is something that should be done with great respect, but if you do it right you can create a unique moment on the dance-floor.

vertigo

PSYKED:
Can you describe your most memorable collaboration so far?

VERTIGO:
It would probably be “Upon The Corner,” together with 4i20 and Audiophonic. It was a great tour of Brazil, especially when we went into a very impressive studio belonging to Tiago, which was situated near Belo Horizonte, in the middle of some jungle. Another great collab would be also be “Acid Attack,” which I created together with my bro Meis from Italy. I also have a good one with Capital Monkey currently underway. It’s always great to visit other studios and have some fun with the guys.

PSYKED:
If you had to give thanks to at least one person who guided you on your musical journey, who would it be?

VERTIGO:
I think it wouldn’t be just one because the road has led me to many amazing people who have supported and guided me.  I’d say that it’s more about support between people who are on the same journey – like my friend and partner, Audiophonic, with whom I own Madabeats  Records –  or even some of the party organisers such as Calvin Pfaff from PsynOpticz Records and this magical event or Rafael Holanda from Brazil. Musically, I have to admit that Bliss and Mystical Complex have both been big influences of my career. All of them are great leaders.  But the most important guide is yourself and the desire to improve.

11896484_502363633266246_9068821562620517322_o

PSYKED:
To date you’ve performed in Brazil, Switzerland, Portugal, Italy, Mexico and South Africa. How does our local scene compare to some of the others you’ve experienced? (Is it true when they say that South African dance-floors are wilder than most?)

VERITGO:
It was certainly true at Jungala Festival in 2014 with that legendary closing! Cape Town is definitely one of the best places to play psytrance and progressive in the world.

vertigo

PSYKED:
What are you working on at the moment? Do you have any new releases for us to look forward to?

VERTIGO:
I’m working on a few 142 BPM progressive tracks. My BPM is rising again and now I’m looking more at music which can take you to deep parts in your mind as a tool to help you reach a higher level of consciousness.  This is what I love about psytrance and its roots – it’s not just about partying. As for my latest production, I recommend you stay on the lookout for an original track of mine called “Balam” which is influenced by the Mayan culture. I feel that this track fits in perfectly with the #MagicOfJungala party and will be released next on the 28th of November as part of the Eclipse VA – a compilation from Madabeats Festival in Mexico.

PSYKED:
Before we wrap things up, tell us something that not many people know about you?

VERTIGO:
I’m an environmental engineer as well as being a music producer. I just started working as an environmental consultant and I’ve been working on urban development projects. I’d love to make a difference in the world in which we live besides giving colour to our days with good music.

jungala-festival-2016

Visit the event page.
Leave a Reply

