Prefix Outdoor Trance Party

#WinterVortex: Exclusive interview with Prefix

Prefix is the psychedelic project of John Vichos. Growing up in Johannesburg, then moving to Cape Town in 2014, Prefix was always musically charged. But it was only after DJing genres such as tech house, minimal and techno for a few years that he discovered his love for psytrance and techno could indeed be merged – and so, Prefix was born. His memorable stage presence and versatile style never fails to attract a crowd. This year, he will be making his debut performance at Vortex Trance Adventures – Phoenix Festival 2016.

prefix psytrance

PSYKED:
Hi John! Tell us about your ascent into psytrance – apparently you attended a festival in 2007 and that’s what got the ball rolling?

PREFIX:
To summarize, I had a buddy from Cape Town who I would see during December holidays when I would go travel to the coast from Johannesburg with my family. We would swap the music. Being from Cape Town with its exploding psychedelic culture, most of what he would share with me was psytrance. It became infectious, and eventually I had him take me to my first outdoor which was Earthdance Cape Town in 2007. It was the first time I had ever experienced music and a gathering with such effortless power; it was truly a gathering of tribes. That’s when I got bitten by the bug.

PSYKED:
In your opinion, what is the greatest aspect of our local psytrance scene?

PREFIX:
The majority of us live quite close to the ground, and by that I mean we love the great outdoors and the beautiful venues we are so blessed to be party in. We also have some of the most passionate and expressive electronic music listeners. So the combination results in mass gees and beautiful surroundings!

psytrance festival South Africa

PSYKED:
Can you remember the first gig you ever played? What was it like?

PREFIX:
I can! It was at a small bar in Fourways, Johannesburg, called Escobar. It barely had a dance-floor and it was pretty grimy but I just needed a shot, and the opportunity to practice!

PSYKED:
How has your musical style developed over the years? And what keeps you inspired?

PREFIX:
I began by playing what others were playing; they were my influence and my point of reference. As I discovered more music and how much of it was out there, I suppose I began to find a sound that resonated with me and my flavour. My style has developed very much towards a hypnotic nature but with lots of groove – ensuring that you don’t stop moving while your mind is taken upwards into a new state of consciousness. My inspiration still comes from the producers and labels whose music I play of course.

Prefix Outdoor Trance Party
PSYKED:
Name your top 3 favourite tracks right now.

PREFIX:
With the amount of good music out there, this question will only be relevant for the next week! So here are three great tracks I am CURRENTLY  loving (in no specific order):

Hyperflex – Made of Light (Eclipse Echos Remix)

Gido – Tetra India Express (Via Axis Remix)

Ajja – Bazinga (Earthspace Remix)

PSYKED:
What is the one piece of DJ equipment you absolutely could not live without?

PREFIX:
It’s going to sound like a silly answer but I would say the mixer. Digital DJing has brought about a world of “controllerism” where the master signal is just plugged in to the mixer and everything is done internally on the computer these days. I use my laptop for DJing (most of the time) as well, but I mix externally hence my answer.

Outdoor Psytrance Festival South Africa

PSYKED:
What are you working on at the moment? And do you have anything special up your sleeve for your set at Vortex?

PREFIX:
In July I embark on a worldwide travel adventure. I will be away for a minimum of a year. It’s a personal adventure to go see more of the world but I will be using DJing as a means to visit places and share music with the party scenes I come across along the way. Vortex will be my last Cape Town outdoor party and DJ set until I return, whenever that may be. So I plan to present the most special exit and make it one for the books!

PSYKED:
Before we wrap things up, tell us one thing about yourself that most people don’t know.  

PREFIX:
Most people don’t know that I actually don’t like being on stage. I would love to play music from the dance-floor so we can all dance and face the speakers together.

Trance party South Africa

Leave a Reply

