Exclusive interview with Materia: My creative urge

Materia is Andreas M from Austria. Born and raised in Salzburg, Andreas was interested in music production from a very early age. As a teenager he recalls listening to genre such as trip hop, dub, lounge, EDM, techno and heavy metal. “I’ve always been a fan of the twisted and melancholic side of music,” he says.

His musical journey began when Andreas acquired his first instruments and synths. “I was more interested in creating music and sounds rather than becoming a regular performing artist,” he explains. “Even after many great years on tour, I still see the music as my main target.”

materia psytrance dj psyked in the city

Andreas has collaborated with a myriad of world-famous artists including Earthling, Compressor, Sinerider, Bliss, Brainiac and others; and frequents the decks of popular psy destinations in Europe such as Austria, Germany, Swizerland, Poland, Hungary and Italy under the 24/7 label. His full-on beats are described as driving and deeply psychedelic.

This year, Andreas will be returning to South Africa for Vortex Open Source 2015. We chat to him ahead of his performance in an exclusive interview below.

materia vortex open source circle of dreams 2014 psyked

*Questions by Brandon Menzies for Vortex Trance Adventures. Edited and compiled by Batia for PSYKED.

PSYKED:
Hi Andreas. Tell us a bit more about your decision to start producing and mixing psytrance.

MATERIA:
I remember buying a double CD from Millennium Records in 1998; I actually bought it for the “chill side” but the psychedelic tunes were really interesting and way more diverse than today’s regular psytrance so I wanted to explore more. Not until a year later, some friends of mine introduced me to more psychedelic music and I started my first experiments with the genre.

PSYKED:
Who planted the seed for you so to speak?

MATERIA:
Astralex, an old friend of mine planted the seed by showing me the best tunes back then and he also pushed me to believe in my skills. But I can’t forget to mention the entire 24/7 Records crew for supporting me in this phase and all the people I have collaborated with for sharing knowledge and ideas about music and production.

PSYKED:
If you had to describe one of your most memorable events what would it be?

MATERIA:
I have had a lot of really awesome sets in many different countries; Vortex 2013 was one of them as I mentioned in another interview. I would also love to recommend going to Bristol next summer to visit Boom Town Fair if you can. It’s appropriate to call it a “city of pure joy” for all types of music-lovers. Even if English weather tries to ruin the fun, I am sure that you’ll leave this festival with a smile.

materia psytrance dj outdoor festival trance party

PSYKED:
What was the most surprising thing to happen to you during a performance?

MATERIA:
The unusual moment when a bra is thrown on stage and you don’t get to see where it is coming from!

PSYKED:
Are there any moments you’d like to relive from Vortex Open Source 2013 this year?

MATERIA:
I was very lucky that my first DJ set at Vortex was caught on video so I have a perfect memory of it. It was a great time; I have seen so many happy faces and gotten to know amazing people. I felt so welcome at Vortex; all of these little moments should be mentioned as part of what I hope to experience again in 2015!

PSYKED:
Generally speaking, how do you prepare for a set? Do nerves ever get the best of you?

MATERIA:
I have always been a rather relaxed performer. My live sets usually require more effort to prepare and compared to a DJ, I have a quite limited repertoire and time. I have produced more than just one style so I can play day or night, whether it’s twilight or uplifting music, to suit any dance-floor. But since sets are mostly just one hour long, I tend to play only those tracks which I think are best for the time and place. So playing a DJ set for Vortex is definitely something special and I might get a little nervous even after being on stage for about 15 years.

PSYKED:
Who are you most excited to perform beside at Open Source 2015?

MATERIA:
Definitely Zyce. He is one of the best producers in the progressive trances and a member of one of my favorite acts, Ectima.

PSYKED:
Do you think Vortex has what it takes to become a globally recognised event?

MATERIA:
As far as I am aware, the Vortex team has already spread their vibe to many places. That is a great thing but I believe the Circle of Dreams can only exist where it’s already taking place. Though I am sure the crew will develop amazing new ideas for other places and prove once more that they are good at what they do!

PSYKED:
What do you think about Vortex’s standalone policy of re-introducing DJs and getting rid of the live acts? Are you for or against the playing of longer DJ sets?

MATERIA:
I really enjoyed my last two gigs, even when playing a 4.5 hour DJ set in 2013. Since live shows are mainly requested, I am used to playing a few of my tunes in a short timeframe so I liked the idea to create a flow around my own tracks with music of artists I love and I’m lucky enough to call most of them my friends.

materia soulvision festival psytrance

PSYKED:
In your opinion, where are the problem areas within today’s trance scene?

MATERIA:
I have always been a big fan of detail, and unique styles. There is lots of evidence that this is not everyone’s main focus anymore but this problem is happening in many electronic music genres because times are moving so fast. Nowadays, a new album or EP is already old after a few weeks. Therefore artists are pushed to release tracks that are not really developed but I am not going to give up on my creative urge, to shape every second to a maximum listening experience, just in order to have more releases.

materia outdoor trance party daytime

PSYKED:

Do you have any words of wisdom for young people who are entering the world of psytrance for the very first time?

MATERIA:
Every party, festival and place has its own vibe so psytrance enthusiasts are eager to travel around the globe and experience their favorite music in special places and within a great environment. I think that’s the beauty of the whole thing! It’s hard to compare all the people and cultures that exist, so it’s best to get out there and become involved.

PSYKED:
What is the most important lesson you would like to share with up-and-coming artists?

MATERIA:
Don’t ever get boring!

vortex experience the magic open source psytrance 2015

Want to win tickets to the event? Like us on Facebook here for more details (coming soon).
Leave a Reply

