Review: Rezonance NYE.

Rezonance is easily one of the most anticipated events on the psytrance calendar. With years of experience behind their name, the Rezonance family has gained huge momentum and continues to attract thousands of loyal party-goers from all over South Africa to celebrate the New Year.

Following the previous theme of Transformation, the festival focused itself on rebirth. With a very relevant call-to-action for the New Year: dream of a world where anything is possible. “I am because we are” was the resonating mantra and its essence trickled down to every element of production.

viwe rezonance stage

Photo: Viwe Santana Hewu.

Rezonance decided to switch things up this year, kick-starting the party on New Years Eve. When I arrived at Contermanskloof in Durbanville, I was in for a big surprise! The out-of-this-universe decor had plenty of jaws dropping in delight. Artescape really went above and beyond to create the type of high-end production that could give Ozora festival a run for its money. We have a sneaky suspicion that the Rezonance pics will be taking over Facebook feeds for the next few weeks.

Rezonance ticked all the boxes, from groovy swing at Misfits Meadow to dirty dubstep at the Delta stage to full-on, psychedelic tunes at the main stage. And when you weren’t feeling the magic anymore, the Chill Temple was a perfect hangout for tired souls (or should I say soles).

chill temple guy with glasses rezonance

Photo: That Guy With Glasses.

The dam was also a Godsend in 34 degrees heat! During the day-time it remained occupied by happy people and inflatable lilos. Let’s not forget the random boat spotted floating about.

Of course, it was the Prizm stage that was the main attraction. When I set foot onto the dancefloor, I was sucked in by proggy beats from the likes of Portal, Humerous and Matron. Then Bernz, Take and Contra took over, leading us into the New Year.

I could literally feel the spirits lifting as the clock struck twelve. Frozen Ghost was the first of many killer DJs to rock 2014. I don’t think anyone expected things to get that messy, that mud was really something! If you were clean the next morning, you clearly did it wrong.

guy with glasses rez dj mark

Photo: That Guy With Glasses.

For those who couldn’t keep up with the 180 BPM tracks from the German Bombax or the banging basslines of Hysteria and Paralocks, the Misfits Meadow was an ideal spot to lay-back and enjoy the vibe. It was there that Hektek Elektrek and Wulfsohn kept the crowd jamming merrily into the early hours of morning.

__________________________________________

__________________________________________

At some point, I dragged myself off to my tent for some much-needed sleep (not that I got any). I knew I had gotten more than I paid for, in terms of sound, because I could hear all three dancefloors bass resonating through our campsite at any given time.

guy with glasses decor rezonance

Photo: That Guy With Glasses.

I returned to the Prizm stage for Tune Raider’s must-jam morning set feeling bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. As the sun got cooking, the beats got groovier with Headroom behind the decks, followed by Sad Paradise and my personal favourite, Mr Suit (the Israeli prog hero).

In the evening, I was blown away by Rosa Ventura.
Then equally gobsmacked by 
Deliriant’s midnight set. 

__________________________________________

__________________________________________

rezonance festival dancefloor night

Photo: Aumega Photography

Time was flying by. When I awoke the next morning, I heard Talisman in the distance, delivering some delicious beats for breakfast. Although the sun was already baking, it didn’t dull any spirits. On the dancefloor, nobody was prepared to let a single track go to waste. I was more than grateful for the over-head sprinklers, as I was beginning to feel a little crispy.

guy with glasses happy guy stomper rezonance

Photo: That Guy With Glasses.

__________________________________________

__________________________________________

Other highlights included Sonic Species, England’s psychedelic King and the always-amazing Broken ToyGandalf Grey rounded things off beautifully with a mix of one of my favourite tracks “WTF by D-Addiction.” 

Rezonance made no room for bad vibes, or shoes for that matter. I returned home with dirty feet, a happy heart and the tunes still ringing in my ears. A big thank-you to the organisers and party-goers for exceeding all my expectations. Best New Years ever!

guy with glasses muddy rezonance feet

Photo: That Guy With Glasses.

Leave a Reply

